Compiz Fusion

While I wait for the Dell tech. to arrive today to replace my keyboard, I have some thoughts…

As many of you know, I’m a linux user (ubuntu).  When i first switched to Linux, it was because of the stability.  Then, I started dabbling in the more bleeding edge advancements in linux and I truly got addicted.

I’ve raved in the past about the composite window manager Beryl.  This is a program which takes the regular windows interface and adds unbelievable eyecandy to it.

My windows wobble.  They disappear when I minimize them, or they shred, or they beam out like Star Trek.  When I want to move a window, it snaps to the side of the screen, or I can put it off the screen onto another desktop.  In the picture above, you’ll see my desktop moving from one desktop to another.

Beryl was born out of compiz.  I thought it surpassed compiz in features.   It was brand new, so lacked stability.  When I first heard that Compiz and Beryl had merged, I must admit I was bit disappointed.   Compiz didn’t impress me.  Now, I must repent. 

This week I broke down and installed the new compiz.  If Beryl is no more, why use it?  Right?  Wow.  Compiz 5.02 has beryl’s unbelievable graphics and plugins and the increased speed and stability of the latest compiz.  It really took my breath away.  Nothing is choppy.  Every thing is lightning fast and stable.  It truly is amazing.

If you are a Vista user, I suggest exploring Ubuntu today.  Why suffer through Vista’s strange permissions and crawling speed?  Why pay $800 for the top-end Vista with all the bells and whistles? 

Yes, you can get a mac.  They rock.  But, they also are expensive and you need all new software for them.  Linux is free.  The new compiz’s graphics and eyecandy are far superior to any Vista or other fruity product.   Take a look at this YouTube demonstration.

You might just find that once you go penguin, you’ll never go back!

3 thoughts on “Compiz Fusion

  1. Been there, done that. 😉

    – Mac Daddy Lemon

    As I said, you can go Mac. I’m also not sure I would. I’m very happy with my Dell with Ubuntu.

Leave a comment